WPCS 2.1.2
Tuition Fees:$2,691 /year
Applications Begin:March 2021
Final Award:Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Start Date:February 2022
Academic Unit:College of Agriculture, Engineering & Science
Campus:Westville; Pietermaritzburg
Application Deadline: 30 September 2021
Programme Overview

The field of microbiology is an exciting area of science. Students learn how to detect and quantify micro-organisms in foods, beverages and diverse environmental materials.

Students can use various analytical techniques, spanning from light and electron microscopy to DNA fingerprinting and mass spectrometry to explore the ecophysiology, cellular structure and diversity of microorganisms.


Year 1 – BIOL101(16), STAT130(16) CHEM110(16), 120(16), MATH150(16), PHYS131(16)

Year 2 – Pietermaritzburg: (BIOC201(16) or CHEM220(16)), MICR213(16), 214(8), RDNA202(16)

Westville: MICR213(16), 215(16), RDNA202(16)

Year 3 – Pietermaritzburg: MICR304(16), 307(16), 320(16), 360(16)

Westville: MICR304(16), 306(16), 307(16), 311(16)v

Admission Requirements

Admission Requirements
– NSC degree pass with Maths, English, Life Orientation and Agricultural Science/Physical Science/Life Science at level 4.
– Admission points required: 28-48 (highest scoring students took first; BSc in Industrial and Applied Biotechnology requires a minimum point score of 30).
– The closing date for applications is 30 September.

Application Process
Application Fees for South African & SADC Students: $29
Application Fees for International Students: $128

Closing dates for Undergraduate Programmes:

Medicine: 30 June
All other programmes: 30 September
– Applications to study must be made in the prescribed manner via the Central Applications
Office (, and must include the presentation of the Matriculation Certificate where specified.
– An applicant who has studied at any other tertiary education institution must, in addition, present an academic record and a certificate of conduct from that institution.

For new admissions:
– APS (Accumulated points score)
– Selections are processed on a sliding scale, on academic merit, with the minimum as per subject requirements.

Career Opportunities

Some career opportunities are;
– Biomedical scientist
– Biotechnologist
– Clinical research associate
– Food technologist
– Healthcare scientist, immunology
– Microbiologist
– Nanotechnologist
– Pharmacologist
– Research scientist (life sciences)
– Technical brewer
– Water quality scientist

Tuition Fees Details
    [ID] => 1631
    [key] => field_5a5d9edc676a4
    [label] => Tuition Fees Duration
    [name] => tuition_fees_duration
    [prefix] => acf
    [type] => select
    [value] => /year
    [menu_order] => 49
    [instructions] => 
    [required] => 0
    [id] => 
    [class] => 
    [conditional_logic] => 0
    [parent] => 169
    [wrapper] => Array
            [width] => 50
            [class] => 
            [id] => 

    [choices] => Array
            [/year] => /year
            [/month] => /month
            [/trimester] => /trimester
            [/semester] => /semester
            [for the full programme] => for the full programme

    [default_value] => Array

    [allow_null] => 0
    [multiple] => 0
    [ui] => 0
    [ajax] => 0
    [return_format] => value
    [placeholder] => 
    [_name] => tuition_fees_duration
    [_valid] => 1
Tuition Fees for South African & SADC Students: $2,691
Tuition Fees for International Students: $12,748

South African students pay R44626 per year as tuition fees.
Students from SADC countries pay local tuition fees plus a levy of R3400 (R1800 per semester)

Application fee:
– All students from SADC and other African countries pay: R470
– All students from outside of Africa: U$146
– Students from within Africa but outside SADC and from the rest of the world are required to pay US $ 14 535.00 per annum; i.e. U$ 6 895.00 per semester (first or second) inclusive of the international levy, where registration is required for one semester only to complete a qualification.


Relevant Contact

Prof. Carola Niesler
Academic Leader (Pietermaritzburg)
Prof. Johnson Lin
Academic Leader (Westville)